Forida Forida
State Requirements
Starting a Daycare Business SBB College Daycare Insurance Daycare Insurance
START A DAYCARE BUSINESS!
Daycare.com $29.95 Special Offer!
FOUNDED 1888-ACICS ACCREDITED
$2,000,000 in Scholarships and Financial Aid to Those Who Qualify!
DAYCARE INSURANCE
Liability Insurance Can Protect
You and Your Assets!
HIGHLIGHTS BOOKS!
With a variety of stories, puzzles, crafts and activities every month!

Idaho Florida Family/Large Family Daycare Requirements Idaho Florida Daycare Center Licensing Requirements
Idaho Large Family Home Standards Classifications Idaho Daycare Center Standards Classifications
Idaho Daycare Family Home Standards Classifications Idaho Florida Children and Family Contacts
Idaho Florida Specialized Care of Mildly-Ill Children Idaho Child Care Training Coordinators
Idaho Florida Child Care Statutes Idaho Florida Daycare Licensing Forms & Applications
Idaho Registered Family Daycare Requirements Idaho Florida Daycare Childcare Definitions

Worker Qualifications
Providers: Must be at least 21 years of age.

Caregivers in charge of a group: Must be at least 18 and must complete the Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services approved introductory training course. - Training Overview -

Provider /Child Ratio

Age Range Ratio For Center-based Care  
Age of Children Child: Staff Ratio Max Group Size
6 weeks
4:1
Not regulated (NR)
9 months
4:1
NR
18 months
6:1
NR
27 months
11:1
NR
3 years
15:1
NR
4 years
20:1
NR
5 years
25:1
NR
6 years
25:1
NR
7 years
25:1
NR
8-9 years
25:1
NR
10 years and older
25:1
NR
Age Range Florida Ratios For Small Family Child Care
Total Number of Children Allowed: 2-10
Maximum Number of Children to One Provider: 10, if no more than 5
are preschool-age,
with no more than 2 younger than 1 year;
6 preschool, if none younger than 1 year;
6, with 3 younger than 1 year;
4, if all younger than 1 year
Provider's Own Children Counted: Yes; If under age 13
Maximum Number of Infants/Toddlers to One Provider: 4 younger than 1 year

Age Range Florida Ratios For Large Family Child Care
Total Number of Children Allowed: Up to 12
Ratio of Children to One Provider: 8:2 If all children are birth to 24-mos
12:2 If no more than 4 are under 24-mos
Provider's Own Children Counted: Yes, if younger than age 13
Child Care Arrangements

The Department currently regulates the following child care settings:

• Licensed Child Care Facilities
• Licensed Family Child Care Homes
• Licensed Large Family Child Care Homes
• Licensed Specialized Child Care Facilities for the Care of Mildly Ill Children
• Registered Family Day Care Homes*

*As registered family day care homes are not licensed, they are not subject to onsite inspections.

Registered Family Day Care Homes in Florida
Though registered homes are not licenced or inspected by the Department, they are required to provide registration information on an annual basis that includes, but is not limited to: proof of training, background screening, and completion of a self-evaluation checklist.
REGISTERED Family Daycare Home Standards
Child Care Training

Child care training is an important component and statutory requirement of the child care licensing program.
Educating child care personnel is an essential determinant of the quality of service that children receive while
in care.

The following is a brief summary of some of the training that is required of child care personnel:

Child Care Facility Personnel: Must complete 40 hours of department approved training and subsequently
pass a competency exam. Additionally, a minimum of 10 hours in-service training is required annually. (Note:
This requirement does not apply to volunteers who work less than 40 hours per week and are under constant and direct supervision.)

Family Day Care Home Operators: Must complete 30 hours of department approved training and subsequently pass a competency exam. Additionally, a minimum of 10 hours in-service training is required annually.

Large Family Child Care Operators: Must complete 40 hours of department approved training and subsequently pass a competency exam. Additionally, a minimum of 10 hours in-service training is required annually.


Contact Information
Child Care Licensing Agency
Florida Department of Children & Families
1317 Winewood Boulevard
Building 1, Room 202
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0700
Phone: (850) 487-1111
Fax: (850) 922-2993
Florida Daycare Listings  
Child Care Subsidy Agency
Agency for Workforce Innovation
Office of Early Learning
107 East Madison Street
MSC-140
Tallahassee, FL 32399-4120
Phone: (850) 921-3180
Toll Free: (866) FL-READY (866-357-3239)
Fax: (850) 921-3188
Head Start - State Collaboration Office
The Holland Building
600 South Calhoun Street, Suite 202
Tallahassee, FL, 32399-4143
Phone: (850) 921-3467
Fax: (850) 488-7099
Child Care Food Program Agency
Food and Nutrition Management Section
Florida Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Room 1014
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0400
Phone: (800) 504-6609
Phone: (850) 245-9262
Phone: (850) 245.4323
Fax: (850) 245-9287

Child Care Resource & Referral Contact
Agency for Workforce Innovation, Office of Early Learning
107 East Madison Street
Caldwell Building, MSC 140
Tallahassee, FL 32399-4120
Phone: (850) 921-3180
Toll Free: (866) 357-3239
Fax: (850) 921-3188

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Child Support Enforcement
Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 8030
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-7016
Phone: (850) 488-8726
Fax: (850) 921-0792

Child Abuse Reporting
To report suspected child abuse in Florida, call Toll-Free: (800) 96-ABUSE (800-962-2873).

For national child abuse information, call Childhelp®, 800-4-A-CHILD (800-422-4453), or your local CPS agency.


Homepage               Login              Sign-Up           Forum          Toys & Products          About Us           

Daycare.com a Resource for Parents and Providers

Daycare.com