PDA

View Full Version : What to Do With Little Boy?

safechner
03-31-2010, 12:33 PM
I just started to watch a little 5 year old boy for a couple hours. He decided to hate my daughter who is profoundly deaf. I asked him what is the matter and he said I don't want to be around her because she can't hear. What is a big deal? I explained to him she wouldn't harm him any way and she can't help it. She didnt do anything wrong to him at all. All she wanted to play with him. This is my first time to have problem with him who dont like her. Many daycare kids love her and they learn sign language from me so they can communicate with her. All of their parents pleased with their kids who loves to learn sign language.

I told him, "I can't hear too but I can hear if I wear my hearing aid. Do you have problem with that" and he said nothing. I explained to him everyone different like he can speak two different languages (Spanish and English). Somehow he really hurts my daughter's feeling so I think it would be best for me not to watch him for a couple hours. :mad:Or do you think I should talk to his mother about it?

tymaboy
03-31-2010, 12:46 PM
I would talk to his parents. Maybe she can talk to him & word it a way that he understands better. Maybe put him on a 2 week probation incase it does not change.

momma2girls
03-31-2010, 12:50 PM
I agree, talk to the parents, and set up a trial period, in case it doesn't work at all. Good luck!!

Crystal
03-31-2010, 12:58 PM
I would totally make this a learning experience for him. Bring in books, about ALL abilities. Hang sign language posters. Dolls of various backgrounds/abilities, etc. You can probably find some great free resources to share. He clearly doesn't understand, and you will be doing him a great service to teach him about accepting people for who they are, not what they can or cannot do.