PDA

View Full Version : Should I let it be Known to Prospective Families?

momma4many
06-30-2011, 08:15 AM
I have been going back and forth deciding if I should let prospective clients or even current clients know that I am working towards my BA in psych with a minor in child development? The reason I go back and forth is b/c a good friend and professor at a nearby university told me to be careful telling clients/prospective clients about this unless I want to play family therapist and/or give diagnosis (which I obviously cannot do, she was just making a point, I think) for free. I know that sounds harsh, but I think she was just speaking out of her own experience.

I don't tell any of them now unless they ask b/c I don't want them to think my studying interferes w/ daycare time or that I will be quitting in a year or two when I have my degree.

What do you all think about this?

Cat Herder
06-30-2011, 08:18 AM
I would be so excited I would have T-Shirts made!!!!!!!!:Sunny:

That is so awesome....:D:D:D

Just tell them you legally cannot give advice without them first scheduling an appt. Your insurance wont allow it.

That is what my sons ADD "councelor" told me when I asked if eating more fish would really help me remember things in the parking lot...:lol::lol::lol: She's just that cool. I adore her.

laundrymom
06-30-2011, 08:59 AM
I would! It's a huge accomplishment!! If they asked me for advice just tell them, sorry, I have my childcare provider hat on right now, and my childcare fees in place, I can change to my dr hat but the fees are a bit higher.

jojosmommy
06-30-2011, 10:49 AM