Daycare.com Forum

Daycare.com Forum (https://www.daycare.com/forum/index.php)
-   Daycare Center and Family Home Forum (https://www.daycare.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Uh Read the Contract- Awkward (https://www.daycare.com/forum/showthread.php?t=44734)

Unregistered 04-17-2012 07:02 PM

Uh Read the Contract- Awkward

My contract reads that if I am open and a child doesn't attend I get paid. If I am closed for holidays etc they don't have to pay. I had a family take vacation this week and didn't pay me and I believe they don't intend on paying for this week. I am new to daycare and have not come across this problem yet. How do I approach mom? I feel awkward about it. Advise please and thank you

Breezy 04-17-2012 08:05 PM

I would just let the family know that as per your contract, fees for the week they are were gone are still due. They signed the contract, they agreed to the terms!

Frizzled 04-18-2012 03:52 AM

What I've found is that most parents feel as awkward about as you do. They will take the information and then go read their contract. You'll probably then get paid. Whatever you do, don't back down. They will take advantage of that, not even as bad people, I think it's human nature. If you feel really super awkward I would send them a quick email saying, "Per the contract I was supposed to receive payment for the days you guys were on vacation. So that would be due ______ thanks so much for your prompt action."

It is awkward but it's why we have contracts right? GOOD LUCK!:Sunny:

DaisyMamma 04-18-2012 04:02 AM

Don't back down!
I had a sick girl who was out for an entire week, her mom flatly stated she wasn't paying. I said sorry, its in my contract. I had to tell them pay or don't come back. She paid. Now she doesnt question it. If I had backed down she would've done it again and again.
She even tried to manipulate me and pull a guilt trip about how her last daycare was more understanding. I just ignored it.