Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Screaming Child
Unregistered 08:54 AM 03-10-2016
I have no idea what to do about this child anymore. She is about 15 months and I have been caring for her for 6 months. She throws terrible fits all day long if I am not paying 100% attention to her. After meals/snacks, as soon as she is done she will scream to be taken out of her chair immediately. Even if I turn a corner she will cry and throw herself on the ground. I feel so bad for the other children in my care that have to listen to her screaming all day. I can't successfully do any activities with them because she is constantly screaming. I can't/won't hold her all day. I have talked to mom about it but i get the feeling they give in to her fits which is not helping. I don't want to term, but I know I may have to. Does anyone have any advice on how to curb this behavior before I officially give up because nothing I'm doing is helping
Ariana 09:38 AM 03-10-2016
All I can offer is empathy for the situation . I was there and I could only last two weeks so kudos to you for lasting 6 months. Kids who suffer from attachement issues are by far the hardest to deal with.

Things I have tried:
- Reminder to use your words
- Letting her know she will only get out of her chair or whatever the situation is if she stops screaming. So keeping her in her high chair until she stops screaming no matter how long it takes.
- Removing her completely from the area to be by herself when she is screaming. She is allowed to return when she has stopped screaming.
- Giving attention only when calm and not screaming.
Leigh 09:46 AM 03-10-2016
I had a foster child like this. My pediatrician recommended putting him in a pack and play in a different room (alone) during his tantrums and telling him that it's not OK to scream. The very moment he quit screaming, I picked him up and lavished attention on him. It took about 6-8 weeks, but it worked.