Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Poison Ivy
DaveA 04:03 AM 09-13-2016
Have you all noticed it being harsher this year? I've had one DCK have it over the summer, DD had it earlier, and I've been dealing with it for about a week now. Previously when I've had it it's lasted for maybe a couple days. Luckily it's kept mostly to my legs, so besides a few large bandaids I could cover it just by wearing pants instead of shorts. Each case has ended up at the doctors, something that I've never had to do before for me or DD. OTC stuff isn't working. The DCK never came with it, but DCM said it was brutal. I'm a First Aid instructor and DW's a nurse, and I still ended up in Express Care last night for cellulitis. Ended up on topical and oral steroids and antibiotics.

Have you had problems with it this year in your area/ DCKs? Does it seem to be worse than before?
Cat Herder 06:48 AM 09-13-2016
"Have you had problems with it this year in your area/ DCKs? Does it seem to be worse than before?"

No. I can't remember having ever had it, here. Maybe your reaction is from multiple exposures. Exaggerated allergic response. Once a person has had an exposure or an allergic reaction (is sensitized), even a very limited exposure to a very small amount of allergen can trigger a severe reaction.

Sounds like roundup needs to be your new best friend. Hope you feel better soon.
sleepinghart 07:27 AM 09-13-2016
Funny you should say- My son had it a few days ago but it cleared up in a couple of days and was easily treated with itch lotion & benadryl(knock on wood). This was the first time I've ever had to deal with poison ivy in my life !
Blackcat31 08:02 AM 09-13-2016
Originally Posted by Cat Herder:
Sounds like roundup needs to be your new best friend. Hope you feel better soon.
or a goat!? I've heard it's pretty popular....

Hire a grazer

http://www.npr.org/sections/goatsand...ont-hurt-a-bit