Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>What are Parents Looking For?
Movingforward 02:36 PM 07-21-2015
Since there are so many provider veterans here, I'd like to take advantage and ask: What are the top 5 qualities parents are looking for or most concerned with in a family childcare for toddlers? TIA
Michael 04:29 PM 07-21-2015
Experience
Time schedule
Rates

I that order.
daycare 05:04 PM 07-21-2015
I would say

a solid reputation in the community, trust

clean
open communiation
quality
controlled environment where kids are not going crazy out of control.
cost
hours

healthy foods

I am also in CA bay area. this is what I find parents want
Snowmom 05:10 PM 07-21-2015
I'm in the Northern Midwest.

I have more and more parents asking what background I have before childcare and if I have an Early Childhood degree.
5 years ago, I never had that concern/requirement from parents.

Otherwise, just meshing well with provider. A similar outlook on discipline, potty training (if toddler age) and cleanliness.
AmyKidsCo 06:20 PM 07-21-2015
Safety
Education
Price
Not necessarily in that order...
Unregistered 09:41 PM 07-21-2015
Cost
Curriculum (academic, play based, etc)
The feeling that you are organized and know what you are doing
Blackcat31 06:53 AM 07-22-2015
Originally Posted by Snowmom:
I'm in the Northern Midwest.

I have more and more parents asking what background I have before childcare and if I have an Early Childhood degree.
5 years ago, I never had that concern/requirement from parents.

Otherwise, just meshing well with provider. A similar outlook on discipline, potty training (if toddler age) and cleanliness.
I am a couple hours north of you and it's the same here.

Education and experience are usually the first questions and then the rest is all about how well their child rearing philosophies mesh with mine and how well they (the family) meshes with me personally.