Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>For Those Who Separate By Age...
BigMama 11:09 AM 10-13-2011
Hi everyone! I am new to Daycare.com but have been a in-home child care provider for about five years. I have always had my infants, toddler, and preschoolers share the playroom space. This has always worked for me in the past. The big kids played & did their activities and the babies participated at their own level or played independently. This year this is not working. I have four older kids (one 3 yr.old and three 2.5 yr. olds) and two babies (one 15 mo. old and one 8 mo. old). The 15 month old "destroys" (and I mean that lovingly!) anything and everything my older ones are working on. I know that this is entirely age appropriate but I haven't had this issue with past babies (some of whom are now my older ones!). Also, the 8 mo. old is already pulling herself up and starting to cruise & she obviously has no concept of what she is grabbing. I like to provide lots of activities for my older ones & this is becoming almost impossible with the two little renegades on the loose!
Soooo...I was just wondering how other providers go about separating their littles from their bigs? How is your house or playroom set up to separate? Do you use gates, furniture ??? I haven't ever considered separating them before but think this might help this particular group.
laundrymom 11:21 AM 10-13-2011
If my bigs are building and my littles are destroying, I let the bigs build in a pnp. They may get out at any time but the littles have no access to their projects.
cheerfuldom 11:23 AM 10-13-2011
do a super yard and create an area just for the babies.
MommyMuffin 12:16 PM 10-13-2011
I use my living room and dinning room for dc. My living room and dinning room are essentially the same room, no wall seperates them. So I have a long couch and part of a gate seperating the living room from the dinning room.