Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Starting Infants At 6 Months And Over
momma2girls 06:23 PM 05-11-2012
I have a baby contracted for next Aug. when school resumes. She will be 8 months old.
How many of you's have a min. age requirement? SUch as 6 months and over? 1 yr. and over? Etc....
I am seriously thinking about this, with so many colicky babies, SIDS, and getting them into a routine, etc. etc....
bluemoose_mom 07:28 PM 05-11-2012
I only accept 12 month old's and over.

However, since I'm new (like, as in just finished my second week of daycare) I accepted a 7 month old. It seemed silly to me that I would reject these parents when the little girl will be 12 months shortly and I have no other clients. Especially since I'm new to area, and we only have a population of 1600, I need word of mouth more than most people.

However, I will not be accepting under 12 months once I have client base.

Good luck on deciding. My husband didn't understand why I choose to limit it to 12 months and older until I got DCG. Now he understands how much more work they are.
Sunchimes 07:32 PM 05-11-2012
Unless I'm in dire straits, I won't take any more under 6 months. But, my first dck was 6 months old, and she was a piece of cake. I have a 3 month old now...3.5 months actually. I spend much of the day chanting "He'll be 6 months old in just 2.5 months." I'd take a 6 month old any time.
Sprouts 05:19 AM 05-12-2012
I haven't really thought of if this either, but my first baby that I took was 4 months and she was and is the best baby ever! I then took another 4 month only a few months later, and ....that lasted a week I do however require children under a year to have a movement monitor (I know some people don't fully support it) but it gives us all a peice of mind!
Blackcat31 06:15 AM 05-12-2012
I have done this on and off over the years. I enrolled children from birth to age 12 the first few years I was open.