Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>11 Months Old Cries All Day, And Is Driving Me Crazy
jenny31052 12:02 AM 10-19-2011
I've been caring for this child for the past 3 months. She cam back Monday from a 3 weeks vacation, and now she cries, and literally scream bloody murder unless I'm holding her AND walking around. If she is on the floor, and I'm busy walking around doing other daycare things she follows me screaming at the top of his lungs. She even throw herself on the floor, and cries so hard that today she went into apnea for almost 30 seconds...
These past 2 days have been hell...
She still doesn't know how to self-soothe AND still requires a bottle to go to sleep, and as soon as the bottle is off her mouth, and I lay her down in the crib, she wakes, and start to scream again. I can't physically hold an 11 months old baby all day long, and today I just let her cry it out, hoping that she will figure out, that she won't be picked up everytime she decide to scream...

I feel awful for my son, and the other kid (2 and 22 months old) who have to listen to her, and today I could tell that when she was crying, they were angry and more agitated...

What would you do in a case like this? I do feel bad letting her cry it out, but she is going to be a year old in less than a month, and still acts like a 6 months old.
Michael 01:44 AM 10-19-2011
https://www.daycare.com/forum/tags.p...ies+constantly

https://www.daycare.com/forum/tags.p...ying+-+all+day
Cat Herder 05:58 AM 10-19-2011
1. Communicate with parents
2. Rule out medical causes
3. Put a deadline star on the calendar
4. Work out a plan for resolution
5. If no resolution by deadline, terminate

Group care requires meeting the needs of the GROUP.

Allowing one child to continually detract from the group benefits no one and will put you out of business.
Unregistered 07:06 AM 10-19-2011