Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Very Very Fussy Clingy 9 Mo Old
Unregistered 07:08 AM 07-08-2011
Hi I have been talking care of kids for over 20 years and this year I have a challenge of a baby. I have had him since he was 8 weeks old and his older brother the last 2 years. He is always fussy, I can't be out of his sight, doesn't just fuss..he screams.. I am so frazzled at the end of the day and the stress of this one is wearing me out and it disrupts my other kids too. My husband works with me and I just recently had my friend come work 2x a week with me to give me a bit of a break. I have never had this happen to where it is 8-9 hours a day of an unhappy kid. He also only naps 2x a day and if I am lucky 30 min at a time. I don't want to term him and his 4 year old brother(who is a bit sassy now and then but nothing too bad). I know the mom totally caters to both of them and the older is a terror to her the minute she walks in the door(telling her to put his shoes on when he can do it, go find his cup, stuff like that) but overall I really do love them and want to not quit..oh and she is pg with her 3rd. I am just a bit at wits end a little frustrated..ok a lot. I have talked to her about it but she tells me he is not that way at home which I do find hard to believe. Do I hope he outgrows this soon or just accept the fact he is extremely demanding.
Cat Herder 08:35 AM 07-08-2011
The only tried and true way to fix this is:

1. A healthy diet.

2. Uninterupted deep sleep.

3. Lot's of floor time/exercise with quality toys in a safe, protected space.

4. Limited time in infant restraints or being held.

5. A consistent daily routine.

I wish I had a quick fix for you, this is just one of those constant/ongoing type of issues.
youretooloud 08:52 AM 07-08-2011
The poor four year old! I feel bad for you and him.

The baby is probably a little sleep deprived. Have you asked the mom how many hours a day he is sleeping at home?