Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Okay, Here's A Potty Training Question For You!
Missani 12:07 PM 02-28-2011
Okay, so DCD brought his child in today and said, "DCG went potty all weekend and even told us when she had to go. She's pooping on the potty and doing really well, so we expect that you will work with us and she'll be completely trained in a month or so. Is that a reasonable expectation?"

Umm...sure??? Well, DCG has NEVER gone potty or told me she has to go potty or anything here...because DCG is 17 months old!!!! She can't talk. She can't drink from a cup or stay sitting in a chair for a whole meal time without getting up 25-30 times. She dumps toys all day, is a horrible napper but sleeps in a crib, etc. She's a baby!

I've been potty training kids for a long time, and I'd like to think I'm pretty good at it. I was a toddler teacher for a really long time, a nanny, and I think I've potty trained nearly 175 toddlers. I'm not exaggerating! In my time, the youngest I've ever seen completely trained is 22 months, and that was only once. I have seen a handful under 2 years, but in all cases except one, it was the parents who were trained and not the child.