Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>My Child was Tied to a Chair at Daycare
Tiffer 05:48 AM 10-20-2009
I'm fairly new to the daycare game. My child is 22 months old, but only started going to daycare 2 days a week in May to give our family members a break.

He goes to a daycare facility in Central Illinois, and so far I've been mostly happy with the place. I will say the menu isn't as healthy as I'd like, and I don't see as much interaction with the younger kids. I've been there at all times of the day, as it's close to my job, but I've never seen them reading, singing, etc with the under 3 rooms. But aside from that, friendly teachers, clean facility, etc.

However, I went to pick him up yesterday (he goes on Mondays and Fridays) and got there about my usual time. Well, they were just finishing up snack time, which was kinda late for snack time. I think it's usually an hour earlier. So I see my son sitting at the table, and I call his name and usually he RUNS to me but he just sat there. So I walked over and the teacher came running over and started figdeting with his chair. He was tied to the little plastic chair with a scarf! The other kids I noticed had like a little seatbelt apparatus restraining them. So I said "Oh, got ya tied down there, huh bud?" and the teacher says "Yes, it's the only way they can learn to sit still."

Now, I was angry, but didn't say anything then. I mean, if this is an approved means of teaching kids to stay at the table, fine. I will likely put my kid at a home daycare and be done with it. I am going to call the director today to discuss the fact that he was tied up with a scarf. I mean, if they ran out of the seatbelt things, OK. But maybe you should just have a teacher sit there with him instead of tying him up with a scarf?