Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Does Family Daycare Provider Have To Live The House?
Unregistered 08:48 AM 06-13-2011
Hello,
I have a house in a good location. I have been running family daycare from there for seven years. I am licensed provider in Maryland. I want to keep this facility as family daycare, however I am moving to new house few miles away. Do I have to be living in the house to be licensed as Family Daycare provider? or can I just come to the house in the morning and leave in the evening.

Thanks,
Jenny
morgan24 09:10 AM 06-13-2011
You would have to check your state licensing rules. In MI you have to live in the home or else you are considered a center and the rules are different than they are for a family or group license.
sharlan 09:12 AM 06-13-2011
In CA you have to live in the home.
Blackcat31 09:15 AM 06-13-2011
Originally Posted by Unregistered:
Hello,
I have a house in a good location. I have been running family daycare from there for seven years. I am licensed provider in Maryland. I want to keep this facility as family daycare, however I am moving to new house few miles away. Do I have to be living in the house to be licensed as Family Daycare provider? or can I just come to the house in the morning and leave in the evening.Thanks,
Jenny
I do exactly that. You should probably check with your state rules. Where I live, you do not have to live in the home but it must be a family style home and in a residential area to be considered family childcare.
Unregistered 10:24 AM 06-13-2011
Check with your local licensing agency as well as any FUTURE plans for changing this measure. This just came up in MN legislature and they would like to make it against the rules to own a seperate home and provide daycare from it. Currently MN has about 1000 providers who do this so I am not sure what would happen if you already were in that situation when the legislature made its ruling.
Unregistered 11:33 AM 06-13-2011