Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>New Daycare Assistant - Nervous
FD1993 09:26 PM 09-06-2012
Hey everyone,

I'm a 19-year-old male college student, and while I haven't been hired yet, I think I'm close to being hired as a daycare assistant in a family/home daycare.

So, a little bit about the home daycare... There's 6-7 kids at any given time ranging from age 13 months to 4.5 years. My responsibilities would be feeding, diapering, putting them down for naps, playing, helping with art projects, singing, reading, etc. And I'd also help clean up throughout the day -- washing dishes, picking up food that fell on the floor, cleaning up toys, sweeping, etc.

And I'm nervous that I'm not going to be good at this job. First off, I've never really taken care of children. I've never fed a small child, changed a kid's diaper, etc. I've been around kids before, and I've been told that I'm very good with children, so I'm not worried about entertaining them. But I'm also nervous that maybe the daycare provider expects me to be very upbeat and enthusiastic and sociable, and I'm not. I'm kind of quiet and wouldn't describe myself as upbeat, but still, I've been told I'm good with children so I thought I would apply for this job.

Another thing I'm nervous about... I'm male. There's some prejudice against men when it comes to childcare. What if parents are worried about me being a child molester or something? What do I say to make people feel more comfortable about me being in the daycare?

Any tips in general for an assistant with no experience taking care of children?

Thanks everyone
Blackcat31 07:08 AM 09-07-2012
Welcome to the forum!

Your status has been upgraded so you can post without moderation
crazydaycarelady 07:21 AM 09-07-2012