Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>How to get out of day care???
Unregistered 02:11 PM 08-10-2012
I have been providing daycare for 17 years! I have loved it, but realize for health reasons and my own family, it is time to move on. I am just not sure how to do this. Financially I need the income, so how do you plan the closing/ retirement from this line of work?

Any suggestions or anyone in the process of closing?
jojosmommy 07:09 PM 08-10-2012
So, do you have a plan for alternative income?

If so then the only suggestion I have is to provide your families with SOME notice but not too much because I have heard of many families looking for care right away and leaving the provider earlier than she had planned. Maybe someone else can chime in on this part.
cheerfuldom 08:23 PM 08-10-2012
Is it possible to semi retired? make your group smaller, limit your days/hours/services? so you are able to have some income but not having as much as you have now?
HaveaHoot 07:05 AM 08-11-2012
My mother in law did daycare for 20 years and I believe she aged all her kids out and never replaced them and stopped accepting siblings. She slowly ended her daycare and now works with animals and is very happy. She didn't require the income anymore though.
makap 08:09 AM 08-11-2012
I am planning on gradually getting out of doing full-time care within the next 2-3 years. As the children leave my care, I will not be replacing families. I am full right now with 5-7 children each day. Once school starts I will be down to 3 children until October when 2 of my past families who are on my wait list return with their one year olds.

My plan is to "semi retire" from this job after my current little ones go to school. I would like to offer a morning program for 3 year olds who will be going to school shortly. I think that there is a demand for something like this.