Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Order Out of Disorder
tomato 11:58 AM 05-18-2016
This is my third week on a job teaching five 4- and 5-year-olds in the morning.
I have to fight tooth and nail to get all five of them to listen to me for as long as one sentence.

The director was impressed because I have several years of experience and a couple of college degrees.
But if I can't get those five kids under control, she'll decide that I'm an imposter.

Here's what I've tried and doesn't work so hot:

■ Their favorite games are hide-and-seek and musical chairs. I've promised them one of those games if they behave. No luck.

■ When one child interrupts, I reinforce the four who are not interrupting. That's had some limited effect.

■ I get down on the offending child's level and speak softly to the child. The child goes limp and refuses to look at me.

Here's what I tried recently and might work:

■ For some reason, they behave perfectly fifteen or twenty minutes before lunch time. They gather around me and eagerly listen to me read them a picture book.
Could it be that they are accustomed to a schedule with which I am not familiar?

Then again, I am replacing a teacher who allegedly wasn't so hot. From what I hear of her, they probably didn't have much of any schedule. I wish I can find a diplomatic way to find out what the kids are used to.

■ This morning, after 9:30 circle time, I worked one-on-one with each child while the remaining kids used puzzles and toys in the same room. I limited them to only a few puzzles and toys in order to minimize the ordeal of clean-up.

That went tolerably well, but that could be because the director was in the room. I hope it will go over tolerably well when the director is not in the room.

Here's what I intend to try and might work: