Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Should I let it be Known to Prospective Families?
momma4many 08:15 AM 06-30-2011
I have been going back and forth deciding if I should let prospective clients or even current clients know that I am working towards my BA in psych with a minor in child development? The reason I go back and forth is b/c a good friend and professor at a nearby university told me to be careful telling clients/prospective clients about this unless I want to play family therapist and/or give diagnosis (which I obviously cannot do, she was just making a point, I think) for free. I know that sounds harsh, but I think she was just speaking out of her own experience.

I don't tell any of them now unless they ask b/c I don't want them to think my studying interferes w/ daycare time or that I will be quitting in a year or two when I have my degree.

What do you all think about this?
Cat Herder 08:18 AM 06-30-2011
I would be so excited I would have T-Shirts made!!!!!!!!

That is so awesome....

Just tell them you legally cannot give advice without them first scheduling an appt. Your insurance wont allow it.

That is what my sons ADD "councelor" told me when I asked if eating more fish would really help me remember things in the parking lot... She's just that cool. I adore her.
laundrymom 08:59 AM 06-30-2011
I would! It's a huge accomplishment!! If they asked me for advice just tell them, sorry, I have my childcare provider hat on right now, and my childcare fees in place, I can change to my dr hat but the fees are a bit higher.
jojosmommy 10:49 AM 06-30-2011