Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Potty Training Advice
sahm2three 06:16 AM 07-01-2011
I have a 2.5 yo dcb who I have been working with on PT for a couple months now, and in the last couple weeks I can't get him to go on the potty! He pees in his pullup all the time now. I have even set an alarm for every 30 mins to get him to try and still can't get him to go. He always says he goes when he is on the potty and doesn't. He had even started going #2 on the potty. Parents are wanting to just put him back in diapers but he was SOOOOOO close. What do you think??
kitkat 11:57 AM 07-01-2011
He sounds a little bit like my DD. She was so close, and then it all started to slip backwards for some reason. I did end up putting her back in diapers and then we started up in May again. Same thing...would do well (tell you she had to go and would usually make it in time) and then regress for some reason. I had enough with cleaning up the messes, so she's back in diapers again and now I'm not waiting for her to tell me she has to go, I'm taking her.

2.5 can be a bit young. If he's digging in his heels, I would just take a break from training and have the parents work on it at home if they want. Like my DD, he'll get it when he's ready. Hang in there and know all your hard work will pay off eventually!
TBird 12:16 PM 07-01-2011
I think a lot of kids start to do well and then maybe revert back a little bit. I know this isn't popular but sometimes I just like to go Cold Turkey and put them in underwear. The kids catch on to the Pull-Ups and pee in them just like it's a diaper. Once this is discovered, what's the use??? I used to use the 3-ply training underwear but they're so hard to find now. It's like they've been replaced by the Pull-Ups. I'm very modern but my potty training is so Old Skool, LOL!!!
bice99 12:21 PM 07-01-2011
Originally Posted by TBird: