South Dakota South Dakota
State Requirements

Starting a Daycare Business American Web Loan Daycare Insurance State Licensing Requirements and Standards
START A DAYCARE BUSINESS!
Daycare.com $29.95 Special Offer!
American Web Loan
Quick and Secure online process
Apply today, cash tomorrow!
DAYCARE INSURANCE
Liability Insurance Can Protect
You and Your Assets!
Licensing Requirements
Your state's Licensing Requirements
and contact numbers.

Licensing Standards for Daycare Centers in South Dakota State
Licensing Standards for Family Group Daycare in South Dakota State
Licensing Standards for Family Daycare in South Dakota State

Worker Qualifications
Teacher: Must be at least 18 years old and have a bachelor's in fields of education or human development and at least 2 years experience in child care; or a bachelor's in elementary education and at least 2 years experience in child care; or a bachelor's in elementary education if working only with school-age children; or a bachelor's in early childhood education; or and associate's in early childhood development; or certification as a Child Development Associate; or certification in Montessori teacher training program and at least 1 year experience in a Montessori school or child care setting; or a child development technician diploma; or at least 5 years supervised experience in a child care center; or a prekindergarten teacher endorsement.

Provider /Child Ratio
Age Range Ratios for Center Based Care in South Dakota State
Infants (1:5)
Toddlers (up to 3 years) (1:5)
Preschool (3 - 6 years) (1:10)
Schoolage (1:15)
Mixed age group according to number in each group
Age Range Ratios for Family Child Care in South Dakota State
All ages

(1:12) with no more than 4 children under the age of 2 years and no more than 2 of those 4 can be under the age of 1; provider's children under the age of 6 must be counted


Contact Information
Child Care Licensing Agency
South Dakota Department of Social Services
Division of Child Care Services
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 773-4766
Toll Free: (800) 227-3020
Fax: (605) 773-7294
South Dakota Daycare Listings
Child Care Subsidy Agency
South Dakota Department of Social Services
Division of Child Care Services
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Phone: (605) 773-4766
Toll Free: (800) 227-3020
Fax: (605) 773-7294
Head Start - State Collaboration Office
Department of Education
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD, 57501
Phone: (605) 773-4640
Fax: (605) 773-3782
Child Care Food Program Agency
Department of Education
Child and Adult Nutrition Services
800 Governors Drive
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2294
Phone: (605) 773-4746
Fax: (605) 773-6846
State Child Care Resource & Referral Contact
South Dakota State University
926 Harvey Dunn Street
Brookings, SD 57007
Phone: (605) 688-5730
Toll Free: (800) 354-8238
Fax: (605) 688-6763

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Division of Child Support
Department of Social Services
700 Governor's Drive
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2291
Phone: (605) 773-3641
Fax: (605) 773-5246

Child Abuse Reporting Hotline
TTo report suspected child abuse in South Dakota, call the local Department of Social Services office or a local law enforcement agency.

For national child abuse information, call the Childhelp USA National Child Abuse Hotline (staffed 24 hours daily with professional crisis counselors): 1-800-4-A-CHILD or 1-800-2-A-CHILD (T.D.D)


Homepage           Login        Sign-Up         Forum        Toys & Products        About Us       

Daycare.com

Daycare.com