Utah Utah
State Requirements
Starting a Daycare Business American Web Loan Daycare Insurance State Licensing Requirements and Standards
START A DAYCARE BUSINESS!
Daycare.com $29.95 Special Offer!
American Web Loan
Quick and Secure online process
Apply today, cash tomorrow!
DAYCARE INSURANCE
Liability Insurance Can Protect
You and Your Assets!
Licensing Requirements
Your state's Licensing Requirements
and contact numbers.

 Center Based Licensing Requirements   Family Licensing Requirements
 Residential Licensing Requirements  Exempt from Licensing Requirements
 Daycare Center Inspection Guidelines Family & Residential Inspection Guidelines

Worker Qualifications
Caregivers and group leaders: Must be at least 18 years old with a HS diploma or GED.

Provider /Child Ratio
Age Range Ratios for Center-based Daycare in Utah State
Care for more than 12 children in a non-residential setting. Ratios are:
Infants (1:4)
Toddlers (under 2 years old) (1:4)
2 years (1:7)
3 years (1:12)
4 years (1:15)
5 years (1:20)
Ratios for Licensed Family Daycare in Utah State

Care for up to 8 children with 1 caregiver including no more than 2 children under age 2; OR care for up to 6 children with 1 caregiver including no more than 3 children under age 2; OR care for up to 16 children with 2 caregivers including no more than 4 children under age 2. Providers’ own children under age 4 count in the ratios.

- One-time fire inspection
- TB test
- Yearly criminal background check
- 20 hours of yearly training in child development, health, and safety
- Current CPR and First Aid certificate
- Three annual home-visits from Child Care Licensing
- Written Policies and Procedures
- Written Emergency and Disaster plan
- City business license required
- Health Department kitchen inspection every other year

Ratios for Residential Daycare in Utah State

Care for up to 8 children with 1 caregiver. Only 2 can be under the age of 2. The provider’s own children under the age of 4 count in the ratios.

- One-time fire inspection
- TB test
- Yearly criminal background check
- 10 hours of yearly training in child development, health, and safety
- Current CPR and First Aid certificate
- Three annual home-visits from Child Care Licensing
- Verbal Policies and Procedures
- Verbal Emergency and Disaster plan
- City business license needed only if required by city
- Health Department kitchen inspection every other year

Ratios for Exempt Daycare in Utah State

Care for up to 4 non-related children with 1 caregiver. No limit on number of infants in care.

- No fire inspection
- No TB test
- No criminal background check
- No yearly training
- No CPR or First Aid certification
- No health & safety regulations
- No business license
- No Health Department inspection
- Residential


Contact Information
Child Care Licensing Agency
Utah Department of Health
Child Care Unit
P.O. Box 142003
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2003
Phone: (801) 538-9084
Fax: (801) 538-6325
Utah Daycare Listings  
Child Care Subsidy Agency
Utah Department of Workforce Services
Office of Work and Family Life
140 East 300 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone: (801) 526-4340
Fax: (801) 526-4349
Head Start - State Collaboration Office
Utah Department of Health
Division of Community and Family Health Services
P.O. Box 142001
Salt Lake City, UT, 84114-2001
Phone: (801) 538-9312
Fax: (801) 538-9409
Child Care Food Program Agency
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500 South Street
Post Office Box 144200
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112-4200
Phone: (801) 538-7513
Fax: (801) 538-7883
State Child Care Resource & Referral Contact
Utah Association of Child Care Resource & Referral
Utah Valley State College
800 West University Parkway
Orem, UT 84058
Phone: (801) 863-8220
Toll Free: (800) 952-8220
Office of Child Support Enforcement
Department of Human Services
Office of Recovery Services
P.O.Box 45033
Salt Lake , Utah 84145-0033
Phone: (801) 536-8500
Fax: (801) 536-8636
Child Abuse Reporting
To report suspected child abuse in Utah, call (800) 678-9399.

For national child abuse information, call the Childhelp USA National Child Abuse Hotline (staffed 24 hours daily with professional crisis counselors): 1-800-4-A-CHILD or 1-800-2-A-CHILD (T.D.D)


Homepage           Login        Sign-Up         Forum        Toys & Products        About Us       

Daycare.com

Daycare.com