Arizona Arizona

Licensing Standards for DayCare Centers

Provider Standards and Responsibilities

A. The provider shall:

  1. Be 21 years of age o older:

  2. Have a high school diploma or its equivalent:

  3. Have current certification in child care first aid and infant/child cardiopulmonary resuscitation through a course approved by the Department and

  4. Have record of attendance from required provider orientation as specified in R9-5-701 (B)(11)) and all courses, workshops, seminars and training events attended.

B. The provider shall:

  1. Orient each of the facility's personnel and each household member to the statutes and rules governing day care group homes and to the facility's policies and procedures:

  2. Ensure that the facility is operated in full compliance with statutes and rules governing day care group homes:

  3. Ensure that each enrolled child is supervised by child care personnel at all times and that any other duties or activities of personnel shall not interfere with the supervision and care given to children:

  4. Ensure that all visitors who are present in the facility or grounds, during hours of operation, are supervised and accompanied by the day care group home personnel:

  5. Notify parents and guardians of their right to enter the day care group home, during hours of operation, while their child is present:

  6. Maintain a written daily log of all incidents, injuries, behavior problems, or other unusual incidents at the facility. This record shall be kept at the facility for one calendar year following the year in which the incident occurred.

  7. Report any unusual incident which has occurred at the facility to the parent/guardian of each enrolled child, including the following:

    a. Illness, injury or death of a child or other person in the day care group home:

    b. Damage to the facility, vehicles, and equipment involved in the provision of child care:

    c. The presence of any individual in the facility who has, or is suspected of having, a contagious or infectious disease transmitted fecal oral route, the airborne route or through close personal contact:

    d. An enrolled child who has run away or is missing from the facility:

    e. Any fire at the facility; or f Any occurrence at the facility which required police, fire, ambulance, or other emergency response;

  8. Immediately report unusual incidents listed in subsection (B)(7) of this Section to the Department by telephone after they have occurred and shall submit a written report of the incident to the Department within 72 hours of its occurrence:

  9. Notify Child Protective Services and the local police immediately if any incident of suspected child abuse is observed, pursuant to A.R.S. § 13-3620;

  10. Ensure that back-up personnel, registered with the Department, are available within 15 minutes during hours of operation to assure compliance with staffing requirements specified in R9-5-803. The name, address and telephone number of all available back-up personnel shall be posted by the facility telephone.

  11. Develop a written plan and instructions for facility personnel and household members to use in case of emergency. Each of the facility's personnel and household members who are 18 years of age or older shall have read and be able to demonstrate that they can implement the plan.

  12. Prior to hiring, make good faith efforts to obtain three personal and three past employer references for facility personnel including household members engaged in child care. These references shall include at least one written personal reference and one written reference from the most recent employer regarding the individual's fitness to provide child care. Documents shall be maintained in the facility which reflect the reference information received.

  13. Comply with requirements of R9-5-802 (A) and (B)

© 1999