Daycare.com Forum

Daycare.com Forum (https://www.daycare.com/forum/index.php)
-   Daycare Center and Family Home Forum (https://www.daycare.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Help: Afterschool Care Tips (https://www.daycare.com/forum/showthread.php?t=27588)

legomom922 03-02-2011 12:26 PM

Help: Afterschool Care Tips

I have never done afterschool care before and now I am offering it. What advice, tips, contract help can you give me on that? I am asking for $15/day, with pick up being at 530pm, no sibling discounts, no summer care option, however, I would be available for spring break week, and school closing days, (snowdays, early release days etc) Should i require them to pay the days they do not need to come? And what about paying those days that school is closed if they do not need me? I am also asking for a 3 day min. I am new to this area of child care!

missnikki 03-02-2011 03:17 PM

I have a bulk monthly rate, that includes care from school bell until 4:30 ($100), or school bell until 6:00($190). These rates include minimum days until that cutoff time as well, but holidays/ school closures are by reservation and paid in advance, and cost 35 dollars for a max of 10 hours care. We don't have snow days, but I suppose I would offer emergency care daily rate.

I also do before school care for $100/month, for 1.5 hours max daily.

Let me know how I can help with contracts, ideas, etc....This is my area of experience.

AfterSchoolMom 03-02-2011 05:23 PM

If I'm open and they don't come on a school closing day, that's their decision, not mine. If I'm closed (like if I'm sick) I don't charge. I also charge extra for full and half days, and get that payment up front. If they don't come on a full or half day, I don't charge the extra amount, but they still pay the regular amount.

blessed mom 03-02-2011 06:53 PM

After School Rates