Daycare.com Forum

Daycare.com Forum (https://www.daycare.com/forum/index.php)
-   Daycare Center and Family Home Forum (https://www.daycare.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Figuring Out How to Raise Rates Without Hurting a Friend (https://www.daycare.com/forum/showthread.php?t=80967)

Unregistered 12-26-2015 06:59 PM

Figuring Out How to Raise Rates Without Hurting a Friend

So long story short, I've been keeping a friends little girls for the past four years. I used to charge $25 per day, per child, and I didn't give a discount for the second child. Mom decided to stay home a year after the second was born, which was great for the girls. However, she didn't love ONLY staying home and wanted to bring in a bit of money. So she took an hourly job where she worked at home. She brought the girls to me around ten to fifteen hours a week and I felt bad for charging her a massive part time rate since she made SO much less now. I know, I know, not my problem, but she's a friend. So I charged $5 an hour for one or the both of the kids. Total. So she was charged the same whether it was one or both girls. She's never taken advantage, only bringing the second when she was desperate. Normally she's in preschool. The issue is that she's expecting in the spring, and I will be keeping the new baby along with the other child. I don't want to charge only $5 an hour for a newborn and a preschooler combined. But I don't think she could swing $10 an hour to cover both kids either. Is there a fair way to do this for both her and me? What do you think I should do? And getting rid of the family isn't an option. They've been very good to me, but I also don't want to do work for free! A newborn is kind of a pain when the next youngest kid is well over two!

Thriftylady 12-26-2015 07:28 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered: