Daycare.com Forum

Go Back   Daycare.com Forum > Open Daycare Center - Sell a Daycare - Rent a Daycare - Buy a Daycare

Open Daycare Center - Sell a Daycare - Rent a Daycare - Buy a Daycare Daycare.com Forum does not allow for advertising but if you are a member trying to Buy, Sell, or Lease a facility, we encourage you to use this thread. (Admin reserves the right to remove any post deemed unworthy)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2015, 03:17 PM
Kyb824's Avatar
Kyb824 Kyb824 is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
Default Felony Theft - Can I Have Home Daycare In Florida?

I have a felony theft charge from five years ago... I completed probation and received adjudication withheld in the State of Florida. I would like to complete the coursework to open a daycare in home I was wondering if someone could give me more information on if that could be possible. I have gone through therapy I am a changed woman. I volunteer where I can with the felony. I am a caregiver for an elderly man with dementia for over a year now. Please help!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2015, 09:28 PM
Thriftylady's Avatar
Thriftylady Thriftylady is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,887
Default

Here is the information that Daycare.com has posted on Florida licensing. You could always call and ask though.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2015, 07:45 AM
Blackcat31's Avatar
Blackcat31 Blackcat31 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 24,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thriftylady View Post
Here is the information that Daycare.com has posted on Florida licensing. You could always call and ask though.
http://www.daycare.com/florida/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2015, 08:28 AM
Thriftylady's Avatar
Thriftylady Thriftylady is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,887
Default

ROFL thanks BC I must have been out of my mind visiting another world lol.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2015, 01:42 PM
Michael's Avatar
Michael Michael is online now
Admin & Owner-Daycare.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Palm Springs CA, Moorpark CA, Ocean Ridge, FL
Posts: 6,554
Default

http://www.daycare.com/florida/flori...uirements.html

C-20.008Application.
(1) Application for a license or for renewal of a license to operate a family daycare home must be made on CF-FSP Form 5133, March 2009, Application for a License to Operate a Family Day Care Home, which is incorporated by reference. CF-FSP Form 5133 may be obtained from the departmentís website at www.myflorida.com/childcare.

(2) A completed CF-FSP Form 5133 for renewal of an annual license must be submitted to the licensing authority at least 45 days prior to the expiration date of the current license to ensure that a lapse of licensure does not occur. Failure to submit a completed CF-FSP Form 5133 at least 45 days prior to the expiration date of the current license constitutes a licensing violation as defined in paragraph 65C-20.012(3)(d), F.A.C.

(3) A submitted CF-FSP Form 5133 will not be considered complete until the licensing authority receives proof of background screening clearance on the operator of the family daycare home, substitutes, and on all other household members who are subject to background screening pursuant to Section 402.313(3), F.S. If the designated substitute changes during the licensure year, prior to taking care of children, the new designated substitute for the operator must comply with background screening requirements and the licensing authority must receive proof of background screening clearances.

(a) Initial Screening includes all of the following:

1. Level 2 screening, which includes at a minimum Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE), and local criminal records checks. For the purpose of issuing a license, any out-of-state criminal offense, which if committed in Florida would constitute a disqualifying felony offense, shall be treated as a disqualifying felony offense for licensing and screening purposes under this rule.

2. An employment history check for the operator and substitute(s) must include the previous two years of employment history, which shall include the applicantís position description, confirmation of employment dates from previous job(s), and level of job performance.

3. CF Form 1649A, January 2007, Child Care Attestation of Good Moral Character,which is incorporated by reference, must be completed annually or in accordance with the local licensing agency compliance and must be maintained in the departmentís licensing file. A copy of the CF Form1649A may be obtained from the departmentís website at www.myflorida.com/childcare.

4. Initial screening submission and clearance documentation must be maintained in the departmentís 3 licensing file.
(b) Re-screening: A screening conducted under this rule is valid for five years, at which time a statewide re-screen must be conducted.

1. The five year re-screen is required for the operator, household members and all substitutes.

2. The five year re-screen must include, at a minimum, a statewide criminal records checks through the FDLE and a local criminal records check.

3. CF Form 1649A, Child Care Attestation of Good Moral Character must be completed annually. A copy of the CF Form 1649A may be obtained from the departmentís website at www.myflorida.com/childcare.

4. Documentation/clearance from the five year re-screening must be included in the departmentís licensing file.
(c) An operator, substitute and all household members must be re-screened as outlined in Section 402.313, Florida Statutes following a break in operation of the family day care home that exceeds 90 days.
(d) If the operator takes a leave of absence, such as maternity leave, extended sick leave, etc., re-screening is not required unless the five year re-screen has come due during the leave of absence.

(4) The Department may issue a provisional license allowing a home to operate for a designated period of time while working to correct one or more licensing standard(s) not met, provided the operator is making adequate provisions to ensure the health and safety of the children in care. A provisional license may not be issued as the initial license and is a not a disciplinary sanction.

(5) CF-FSP Form 5337, March 2009, Child Abuse & Neglect Reporting Requirements, which is incorporated by reference, must be signed annually by the operator and substitute(s). A copy of the CF-FSP Form 5337 may be obtained from the departmentís website at www.myflorida.com/childcare.

RuleMaking Authority 402.309, 402.313 FS.
Law Implemented 402.302(13), 402.309, 402.313 FS.
HistoryĖNew 7-2-98,
Amended 7-13-03, 9-12-04, 4-12-07, 5-1-08, 1-13-10.
__________________
Michael Castello
http://www.ccin.com/about.html

Last edited by Michael; 10-25-2015 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2015, 02:03 PM
Laurel's Avatar
Laurel Laurel is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyb824 View Post
I have a felony theft charge from five years ago... I completed probation and received adjudication withheld in the State of Florida. I would like to complete the coursework to open a daycare in home I was wondering if someone could give me more information on if that could be possible. I have gone through therapy I am a changed woman. I volunteer where I can with the felony. I am a caregiver for an elderly man with dementia for over a year now. Please help!!!!!!!!
I am in Florida and it is hard to say because some counties require you to be licensed and some only registered. Also in my county, which requires licensing, you can still watch one child (or 2 if they are siblings) without a license at all. So I think a lot would have to do with the county you are in.

In my licensed county my son lived with me and had a drug offense on his record. When his background check came back, he went for a hearing in our county. They said he could live in the house but not care for children. A provider I knew also had a son that lived with her and he could not live in the home with a theft charge. So a lot depends on the hearing also.

I know this isn't exactly your situation but I think there are variables so it would be your best bet to call or visit in person and find out. I'd ask to speak to a supervisor. I'd probably go in person too because one person on the phone can tell you one thing and another person will tell you another.

Laurel
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-2017, 01:43 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Daycare in Fl

Hey. I wish i had an answer for you but im in the same boat as you. Except its me that got arrested for felony drug poss but it got adjudicated withheld. Same as my live in fiance. Ive been up all night searching google to get an answer and im still unclear. All ive read ia if you have a drug felony its a no but i wasnt convicted so idk. I hope i can still proceed cause like an idiot i already invested so much time and money into this before i did my homework to see if i could even do it.

I do see this post was from 2015. Did you ever open your daycare in fl? What county are you in im in pinellas.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-06-2017, 02:10 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Daycare in Fl

This was a good read. Makes me think i should have nothing to worry about. If i get denied i will fight it as well. Hope you were able to do your daycare!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
felony, florida licensing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daycare Home Set Up missT Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 8 02-28-2014 01:37 PM
Listed vs Registered Home Daycare fairymama Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 2 01-29-2013 03:37 PM
Going From Home Daycare Provider to Nanny Registered but logged out Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 7 11-24-2012 04:27 PM
Trying to Start Home Daycare in Louisiana spacetiger Daycare Insurance 1 02-05-2010 03:31 PM
Laundry's Contract (Three Parts) laundryduchess@yahoo.com Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 2 02-02-2010 01:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 AM.



Daycare.com         Find A Daycare         List Your Daycare         Toys & Products                 About Us

Daycare.com
Please read our Disclaimer before continuing.

Topics pertain mainly to the following States:

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming