Daycare.com Forum

Go Back   Daycare.com Forum > Main Category > Daycare Center and Family Home Forum

Daycare Center and Family Home Forum Daycare Center and Family Home owners, Directors, Operators and Assistants should post and ask questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2018, 09:04 PM
LovetheSun's Avatar
LovetheSun LovetheSun is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: California
Posts: 159
Default No License For Three Hours Care?

Hello and Happy New year!

So I have heard that you do not need a license for a three hours daycare/childcare but is there also no limits to how many children you can care for?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2018, 06:08 AM
sahm1225's Avatar
sahm1225 sahm1225 is online now
Advanced Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Midwest - where winter never ends!
Posts: 1,707
Default

That seems unlikely. What would stop
Someone from having 100s of kids and saying itís 3 hour max?
But every state is different. Maybe call Licensing and ask?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2018, 06:24 AM
Blackcat31's Avatar
Blackcat31 Blackcat31 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15,979
Default

I am in MN and that would be considered license exempt here only if the parent is on the property or if the program is an accredited non-public school but the children must be 33 months and older.

The following types of child care are considered to be legal non-licensed or license-exempt, under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2:
 care provided to children who are related to the child care provider
 care provided by an unrelated individual to children from a single family
 programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older
services provided for children for less than three hours a day while the childís parent or legal guardian is in the same or contiguous building
 recreation programs operated or approved by a park and recreation board
 programs operated by a school, YMCA, YWCA, or JCC whose primary purpose is providing child care or services to school-age children
 Head Start programs that operate for less than 45 days a year
 programs for children such as scouting, boys and girls clubs, arts, and sports, provided for a total of less than 30 days in any 12-month period
 religious instruction of school-age children; Sabbath or Sunday schools; or care by a church, congregation, or religious society during regular worship
programs operated by an accredited nonpublic school serving only children who are age 33 months or older, for no more than four hours per day per child, with no more than 20 children at any one time
 programs operated by a nonprofit organization that provide structured, supervised youth development and K-12 educational opportunities
http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd...ss/sscclic.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2018, 06:30 AM
Blackcat31's Avatar
Blackcat31 Blackcat31 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15,979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LovetheSun View Post
Hello and Happy New year!

So I have heard that you do not need a license for a three hours daycare/childcare but is there also no limits to how many children you can care for?

Thank you!
Here is CA rules for licensing.
https://www.daycare.com/california/c...uirements.html

The list of programs that are license exempt start on page 17.

Near the bottom of the list it says:

"(10) Any child day care program that operates only one day per week for no more than four hours on that one day." but that is the closest thing I found that says a program with limited hours is exempt from licensing.

I would definitely call licensing and ask. Especially if your state fines providers per day/child for operating illegally.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2018, 12:45 PM
LovetheSun's Avatar
LovetheSun LovetheSun is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: California
Posts: 159
Default

Oh wow! That's is a school 15min away that is ony open 3hours a week but have over 15lida with no license... they said that it was legal.

I'm just curious so I'll call the licensing to see if there is an exempt.

Thank you guys!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2018, 08:37 AM
lovemydaycare0912's Avatar
lovemydaycare0912 lovemydaycare0912 is offline
Daycare.com Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 782
Default

In my state you can not be licensed if you operate less than 3 hours a day. There's a lady who is a teacher and operates an after school program at her house. She doesn't have to be licensed or follow rules because it is less than 3 hours a day.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Question, For Anyone Here - Day or Off Hours Care? Mike Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 11 04-26-2016 01:40 PM
Foster Care in Michigan Unregistered Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 11 03-23-2016 05:47 PM
Obama Care Making Parents Hours Go Down? Country Kids Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 28 01-03-2013 04:06 AM
Child Care Facts Blackcat31 Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 0 08-24-2012 09:29 AM
Help With Hours, Please!! Daycare_Mama Daycare Center and Family Home Forum 9 10-13-2010 03:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 AM.



Daycare.com         Find A Daycare         List Your Daycare         Toys & Products                 About Us

Daycare.com
Please read our Disclaimer before continuing.

Topics pertain mainly to the following States:

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming