Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Daycare, Winter, And Toddlers
Unregistered 06:32 AM 09-27-2011
This is my first year of childcare in a snowy location. I have a handful of toddlers who LOVE their outside time right now. What do you do with your toddlers when it snows? What sort of winter outside toys are good (if any) for this age group? Any winter weather advice would be great
Solandia 06:48 AM 09-27-2011
I just let them play with buckets & cups... pretty much the same toys we use outside in the summer, sand & water toys (minus the sand and water, LOL). I clear off the patio & the go on the ride on toys. We have several sleds that they pull/push each other around in.

The really fair skinned/sensitive skinned kids, I will put vaseline on their cheeks or they get red & chapped in a matter of minutes.
gelbesonn 08:06 PM 09-28-2011
This was me last year (and this year). We got so much snow here that I spent all the time picking up falling toddlers. I finally figured out that if I move my car halfway down my driveway, the house and snowbank provided great containment and we spent our outside time playing in the driveway. I put DH's extension ladder up against my car to block the kids from going to into the street. Kids could draw on the driveway, and play with the trikes, balls and other things I have for the backyard.
kitkat 08:20 PM 09-28-2011
DH took the snowblower and blew paths in the snow for the kids to walk on. The front yard looked like a crazy person had control of the snowblower, but the kids LOVED it! The toddlers stayed on the path and the big kids could go anywhere, but they loved that they could run and chase.
Zoe 05:02 AM 09-29-2011
Originally Posted by kitkat: