Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Please help! Lesson plan ?
pollywolly101 08:17 AM 08-14-2010
Hi all! I am new to working in a daycare although I have 4 children of my own.
We use Funshine Express and I have the Buttercups. My room is 11 months-23 months.
I just started last week and we opened then too. Next week we are supposed to start using the curriculum and I am trying to make a lesson plan.

The activities laid out though seem to be done maybe one activity a day. I am supposed to do Art, Large Gross, Fine Motor, Music plus Bible story and Story time everyday.
So am I supposed to come up with art and physical development and cognitive etc activities on my own?!
Now, I'm pretty creative but these kids do not have many supplies at all and I certainly can't afford to buy everything we would need. Please help!
Crystal 09:33 AM 08-14-2010
Wow, you have to have a lesson plan for infant/toddlers? That's silly.

BUT, since you do, here are some ideas, that are inexpensive or free:

Art:

make your own finger paint - boil 5 cups water, add 1 cup of cornstarch, mix well with wire whisk, add food color or a little tempura paint.

make playdough - find recipe by google

collage: paper, glue, scrap materials or leaves/pine needles, etc. Allow children to glue as they wish.

provide children with a deep bin/container. put 1/2 cup of cornstarch in each container. Give them a cup with water,( add food color if you'd like) to pour into the cornstarch and allow them to play in it - messy but a great sensory experience, and they can drip it onto paper - it will dry immediately.

big crayons and paper are always a hit - tape the paper down so they can keep it in place.

Boxes: provide lots of boxes and let them paint/decorate them. This can also be a motor activity, as they will move/build etc. with the boxes.

Gross motor:

Really, this could be just about any movement activity.