Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Ages of Children in Your Family DC
DevorahNA 06:10 PM 06-19-2012
Do you have a specific age you accept in your home daycare? or do you accept any child? I am a certified preschool teacher with a masters in ed. and I am considering starting a home daycare with the hopes of opening a small center in a couple of years. First of all is this a feasable plan? has anyone done this?
Second, i guess because I am a preschool teacher I could not imagine having infants and a 4 year old in the same "class". I would like to have one age, does anyone do this? How does this work if you have your own children at home who are not the same age? It seems like there are many "playgroups" (illegal mostly) in my area that do only one age...
Sunchimes 07:08 PM 06-19-2012
I didn't plan it, but for the first 8 months I was open, I had 3 girls all within 1 month in age. I still have 2 of them (22 months old). I loved it and had big plans for the next few years. Then, one of the moms got pregnant and I was willing to let her daughter go, so instead, I let one of my girls go. So now, I have a 21 month old, 22 month old, and an almost 5 month old boy. Not impressed with the set up now.
RubyBell 09:45 PM 06-19-2012
Well, when I started I intended to stick with the toddler/preschooler age group. I had only families with infants contact me initially, so I went ahead and accepted a 7 month old and a 13 month old. Now I have kids up to 4 years old. I won't take school agers though (personal preference). I'm very happy with the varied age group and I'm glad I didn't limit myself too much. My daughter is 7 and she has fun playing with the little ones, although I know she prefers the kids in our neighborhood that are her own age. All in all, we're happy though.
Lilbutterflie 06:10 AM 06-20-2012