Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Rules
alyssyn 06:19 AM 01-11-2011
I am adding house rules to my handbook. How do most of you post your house rules? If you put them in your handbook do you also put a list somewhere that the parents can see them each day?
Also, what are some of your house rules? I don't want to leave out anything! Thanks!!
Unregistered 06:31 AM 01-11-2011
I have been doing DC for over 20 years and here is how I do house rules.

I have a contract that parents read and sign that they know how I do things and what I say in there is this about the house rules:

I do teach the kids how to respect my home, which includes the furniture, which includes not letting them jump on the couches, beds or decorative pillows that may be on the couches(which some parents have let their kids do at their own homes and think they can do that here, but NO they can't here, this is my home, not theirs)to respecting the house pets. I think sometimes you have to put things in your contract that may seem like it would be common sense for people, but parents sometimes have to have things spelled out in order for them to understand things.
You might have to just keep reminding the kids about what you expect out of them until they get it.
dEHmom 06:35 AM 01-11-2011
I wish I had a bit of a bigger house. I would love to use my back door for daycare entry/exit, but that requires them having to walk past my front door and through a ridiculously hard to open gate, plus usually walking past dogs, and sometimes dog poo *eww*. My front doorway is very tiny, and really nowhere to post things.