Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Degrees.
sariejohnston 06:53 PM 01-25-2015
I work for a Christian daycare as a full time preschool teacher, I have a bachelors degree in early childhood education but my job doesn't recognize or pay me anything more for having a degree, in fact I am one of the lowest paying teachers there I know this because a co worker who was hired after me was bragging about her pay I was heart broken that I have more experience and education in this field then this person and I am not being rewarded for it.... Can they do this!? What do I do about this? I Had a meeting with my boss who was telling me I got a six cent raise and that daycares will not recognize my degree... Did I totally waste my time getting a degree! I don't know what to do!
Starburst 07:07 PM 01-25-2015
It sometimes depends on your state and where you work. Some places also pay more based on how long you've been with them.

When I lived in California, one daycare I applied to work at had a pay scale where the more education you have the more you got paid.

I recently moved to Oregon and they have a state child development registry where teachers can get incentives to increase their education depending on what step they were at (out of 12). http://www.pdx.edu/occd/education-awards
permanentvacation 08:22 PM 01-25-2015
I'm sorry you're upset about your rate of pay and feel that you aren't receiving what you are worth. However, a degree doesn't automatically equal a specific rate of pay. Your co-worker might have the same degree as you plus more experience or other education as well as the degree. Or she might have simply demanded a higher rate of pay upon hire than you did. Or the company might have needed someone so badly when they hired her that they offered a higher rate of pay just to get someone to take the job they needed to fill.