Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>OT- Information About Scoring/Grading Standardized Tests From Pearson Education
momofboys 02:50 PM 12-02-2010
I'm getting many requests for this information so I thought I would put it all in one post. If you have any specific questions, please ask.

I'm copying & pasting an e-mail sent via FB:

********* September 20 at 3:01pm Report
Hi Jana,

I used to be an editor as well as a sales rep for the College Division at Pearson Education. In total, I had about 15 years with Pearson. I left a few years ago, but I was intrigued to read that you work seasonally, part-time for them. With two young children myself, I'm interested! May I ask what division you are in? Are you on the production side or the sales side? Thanks.......

Leah

September 20 at 9:37pm

Leah:
I don't work in their offices per se. . . I work as a part of their Scoring Team or as a Seasonal at-home Scorer. It's called Flexible Scoring. Basically it is the grading/scoring of all the standardized exams that students take. I loved it & I will be doing a job for them this fall. Their busy time of year is in the spring & typically you can stay busy with them for 2-3 months during that time. Google Pearson Flexible Scoring & you can apply. As long as you have a 4 year degree in anything you will likely be selected. I have an English degree so I did/do a lot of scoring for Reading Comprehension & Writing exams. Initially they make all contact via e-mail & now I think you fill all paperwork out online but you will have to send a notarized copy of one form that verifies your identity (I-9 I think) . If you have any questions, I would be happy to answer. The pay usually falls in the $12-14/hr range which for being at home with my kids is decent.

Jana Bell