Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Pros/Cons Video Cameras at Daycare In Home And Preschool
daycare 01:00 PM 07-01-2011
So my cousin called me last night telling me that she is looking for daycare or preschool for her little boy, they live in southern california. She went to a place that has video camers installed throughout most of the facility. The pricing was really high compared to those that don't have cameras.

She asked me how I felt about them and if they really served better than those daycare/centers without them. I have no experience with them and don't really know anything about them.

The only thing that I told her is that I think that if someone were going to do something wrong they sure would not do it where they know there was a camera and there was no audio, so it would only show the teachers/providers on good behavior. Again I told her i have no experience with them or really know the pros and cons of them....

Can you help me with this? What do you guys think about them and what do you feel are the pros and cons?
Michael 01:07 PM 07-01-2011
You will find this article interesting: https://www.daycare.com/story/daycar...o_cameras.html

We also have many threads on the subject: https://www.daycare.com/forum/tags.php?tag=cctv
daycare 01:14 PM 07-01-2011
thanks so much michael!!
nannyde 04:16 PM 07-03-2011
http://www.ketknbc.com/news/child-ca...dragging-child

http://www.ketknbc.com/news/watch-fu...body-slams-boy

http://www.cbs19.tv/story/14932015/e...tions-of-abuse
Cat Herder 06:36 AM 07-05-2011
Sadly, Nan. That is not an isolated case. Just one where the other employee had seen it enough times to know when she could catch it on cell phone video. Obviously she had already learned that the original classroom video would not be available if she complained.