Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Urinating On Floor
r_forester 04:36 PM 06-10-2015
Hi I am new to home daycare and am new to the forum.
I have a 5.5year old in my care who started to pee on the floor in the bathroom on purpose. I am not sure how to address it or what to suggest to resolve the problem. The first time it happend I thought it could have been an accident but it has happened 3 times since then.
mamamanda 04:50 PM 06-10-2015
I would definitely have them clean up the floor after and preferably while you and the other kids do a cool activity they enjoy. If the 5.5 year old loves playdoh, then as soon as they peed on the floor I would hand them some paper towel & wipes & everyone else gets to go play playdoh. There are some other threads about this same issue if you use the search option. They had some other good ideas too. You don't want to shame the kid, but definitely make them responsible for the mess. It loses its appeal real quick when you have to clean it up. Also, you didn't mention if its a boy or girl, but just make sure there's not a legitimate reason for it. I had a dcg who sprayed pee forward somehow, not on purpose, just how she was made. When I realized that was happening I had her start scooting back farther on the toilet and it fixed the problem.
Luvnmykidz 04:55 PM 06-10-2015
Originally Posted by r_forester:
Hi I am new to home daycare and am new to the forum.
I have a 5.5year old in my care who started to pee on the floor in the bathroom on purpose. I am not sure how to address it or what to suggest to resolve the problem. The first time it happend I thought it could have been an accident but it has happened 3 times since then.