Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>I Thought You Were OLD!
mrsnj 12:02 PM 09-12-2013
I had the gparents of a newbie show up just now. Had not met them before and after finding out who they were, I welcomed them in. Got the baby up and we chatted for a bit. The Gpop says "I thought you were old!" I was like "Huh?" Then my son (20yrs old) left for work at that same time and said bye mom and the Gpop said "I thought that was your husband!" I looked at him again.....and he said his daughter told him I was a retired teacher and old! They were expecting someone their age with a bun on top! Ok....I am no spring chicken. And I am sure their 20 yr old daughter might think I am OLD but hello! Not THAT old!

I think them thinking my SON was my husband just about made my day! LMAO Maybe not his so much but it did mine! LOL
lovemylife 12:05 PM 09-12-2013
Haha! I have one DCM always comment on how young I am. It is actually getting a little annoying. I'm only 8-9 years younger than her.
itlw8 12:12 PM 09-12-2013
When my ds got married her family thought I was his older sister. LOL made my day. Granted her parents are at least 10 yrs older than I am and dil is older than ds.. so it was possible in their eyes if they did not know ds age.
LK5kids 12:14 PM 09-12-2013

Blackcat31 12:19 PM 09-12-2013
Originally Posted by lovemylife:
Haha! I have one DCM always comment on how young I am. It is actually getting a little annoying. I'm only 8-9 years younger than her.
My DD is home from college visiting. When I introduced her to one of my daycare mom's the DCM said "Wow! I didn't know you were a teen mom! What were you, like 15 when you had her?"

Not only did I think her comment was kind of rude but no, I was NOT a teen parent. I was 20 when I had her but apparently I look young so I take what I can from her reaction and call it good.
mrsnj 12:26 PM 09-12-2013
Lol. Listen. As I get older I take any remote comment as a compliment. Lmao