Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Clients Divorce Affecting My Business-WWYD?
WBee 06:37 AM 02-18-2020
Happy Tuesday! I have been caring for a friend's grandson for 2 years now. DCM is going through a (nasty immature) divorce which has already cost me another (toddler) client (cousin of theirs) because the families are in a battle and cannot be near each other. This current dcb was 2x per week but went to 3x per week during the separation in December. Now DCD refuses to drop-off 1x per week, every other week, so DCM wants to cut back to 2x per week again. I've already lost $$ losing the cousin, now this? WWYD? I just cannot have her changing schedules without notice and every other month due to her situation-and believe me, it's been a petty one on both sides. If I wasn't friends with the grandparents (who are the ones who actually pay), I would have been done with the drama already.
Blackcat31 06:55 AM 02-18-2020
Originally Posted by WBee:
Happy Tuesday! I have been caring for a friend's grandson for 2 years now. DCM is going through a (nasty immature) divorce which has already cost me another (toddler) client (cousin of theirs) because the families are in a battle and cannot be near each other. This current dcb was 2x per week but went to 3x per week during the separation in December. Now DCD refuses to drop-off 1x per week, every other week, so DCM wants to cut back to 2x per week again. I've already lost $$ losing the cousin, now this? WWYD? I just cannot have her changing schedules without notice and every other month due to her situation-and believe me, it's been a petty one on both sides. If I wasn't friends with the grandparents (who are the ones who actually pay), I would have been done with the drama already.
This is one of those situations where you really have no other option but to choose friendship or income.

I'd bow out and refuse to care for the child.