Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Does This Make Sense Financially?
Unregistered 06:59 PM 02-22-2015
Hi! I have a lot of years of experience working with children including a short stint as a director (before I had my son & left). I have lots of ECE- nearly an AA. The thing is, I would like to do a family childcare (even nearly got licensed once but chickened out), but we don't own our home and rent here is high.

So, if I rent a big enough place to do family childcare home, it will be like $3300-4000/month for the smallest cheapest I can make it work in. That would be a 2/2 or 3/2 house- if I'm lucky. Where we are now, we pay 1700, but there is no yard and simply not enough space indoors. Standard rates are around $700-1000 for 5 days full time. So??? Idk if it makes sense financially. I guess I don't really know what monthly expenses other than rent I will run into so I'm worried. Like, how much on food, cleaning supplies, taxes, paper products, etc... Any tips on figuring this out? I thought if I got 6 kids at say $600, that's 3600. I can contribute half the rent, then have some for left for daycare expenses and to put some in the bank... Or will it all go towards expenses?
Starburst 07:35 PM 02-22-2015
There is no 100% straight up answer because every state's regs/ tax laws are different and childcare is a really unique home business in terms of taxes. Not to mention we don't know what's best for your family, only you know that.

I have had experience working in a home daycare and haven't yet opened my own but I do know there are tax deductions on time/space in your home as well as food program to reimburse feeding the children. I suggest using Tom Copeland's child care business books (Redleafpress.com; he also commemts on the taxes section of the forum occasionally). He has several books that discuss the business/money end of childcare (those were my text books for a FCC business class) and are relatively inexpensive.