Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Changing Your Policies
jenh171 02:21 PM 01-27-2011
I'm in my third year of doing child care and I would like to adopt a few new policies, such as asking for a fee to hold a spot when a parent leaves for maternity leave or summer. I am just not sure how (and when) to adopt a new policy when I didn't have it upon their hiring me. Do you think it is better to use the new policy when I take someone new on, or just adopt it at the beginning of the school year in September or what? It just seems sort of unfair to start a new policy that I didn't have when they hired me, (especially $ related). I'm just trying to figure out WHEN to set it in place.

I'm also establishing a minimum weekly requirement of 20 hours, which I didn't have before, but I wish I had done this from the start. I am thinking I will just adopt that one with new clients.

Your thoughts?
lvt77 02:26 PM 01-27-2011
In my contract is states that I can make revisons at any time I see fit.... No one has had an issue with it. If it will affect the current childrens schedule, maybe you can explain to the families why you need to make this change. Like I just raised my rates, but cut my hours. No one said a word. But I have really really low rates and also have to go back to school so they were all ok with it...

I do however expect to raise my rates by $10.00 per day becuase they are that low, but it will only be for new customers....
Michael 02:57 PM 01-27-2011
You might find this previous thread on policy changes helpful: https://www.daycare.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24336
sahm1225 03:37 PM 01-27-2011
My old policy was just pay for the days the child is here and now they are paying for their spot. I put the policy in place with the new children enrolled and talked to the current DCPs in September about how as of Jan 2011 that would be the new policy.