Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Getting Really Worried!!!
tenderhearts 03:03 PM 06-20-2010
I've been doing daycare for 12 years, I've never had a problem keeping kids or getting clients. Even during this recession I've managed to stay full. Until all the sudden I have 2 parents lose their jobs the exact same time and one other one is going to a summer kindergarten, so I lost 3 all at once, well 2 of them will be gone in a week and the other one is already gone. I'm so worried I'm not going to fill their spots quickly. Since I can only have 6 ages kinder down I need to fill them with full time but I seem to be getting alot of part time calls, like 2 days per week. I think in time I will fill them but financially this is a huge hit. I don't know if I should take part time or what? I was trying to stay away from it,I have one part timer left, she'll be with me one more year. I sure hope I get these filled quick. YIKES!!!
jen 04:22 PM 06-20-2010
I hear ya! I'm getting ALOT of part time calls too. I was turning them away at first, but I've decided to try something else instead...

I plan to charge a little more for part time, so if normally it's $28/day for full time I charge $30/day for part time.

I am also requiring specific days ONLY. That way I can "sell" the other days to another family who also wants part time.

With any luck, I'll get a little extra money watching 2 part time families!!!
Pammie 04:42 PM 06-20-2010
I know filling a roster with part-timers isn't necessarily the best option, but I too have had to accept part-timers from time to time just to keep an income!

I charge more per day for part-time (+$10/day), and I only do part-time in # of days/week, not half-days. So I can often find one family that wants M/W and another that wants T/R...so it works on my roster and I make out better financially.

Good luck!
boysx5 04:53 PM 06-20-2010