Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare and Taxes>Beyond Overwhelmed
Krysta 01:44 PM 07-13-2015
I am new to being licensed and I am incredibly overwhelmed with the tax preparation and process. I have done a great amount of research and everything I have read says to set aside at least 30% of my income for taxes but that is a crazy amount for me. I cannot afford to put the 30% aside. I understand there are many deductions in fact I have so many I could claim a loss but my husband and I are trying to refinance our home in two years and I need to show a gain and a decent gain at that. There are so many things that are claimed that we have already paid for from previous years and I don't believe should be taken off of my income those things would be used and paid for with or without kids in my home including my house payment and utilities. I guess I am just freaking out and I am in a catch 22 I either claim everything or I choose not to and show a profit and pay out the butt in taxes. is there a way to meet in the middle I really need to show a profit but I just cant afford 30%. Please help
Thriftylady 01:51 PM 07-13-2015
Well utilities will increase, as you have more people in the home, and you can claim a partial amount on that. Remember also they will look in house financing at your bank account and how your balance runs. I forget how long out they do that. As far as holding out 30%, I have never had to pay any in. I have my hubby put just himself as a deduction on his paperwork and that has always covered us along with the deductions of daycare stuff. For the financing, if you taxes show you made a good salary, but your bank account doesn't show that, it will also look bad KWIM? We purchased a house when I had daycare in Kansas and financed us for more than we could even think of affording.
Krysta 02:31 PM 07-13-2015