Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>What DO You Prefer To Be Called?
Josiegirl 04:18 AM 12-20-2013
Teacher? Child care provider? Babysitter?

Years ago, at our child care trainings, we were told to not consider ourselves 'merely' babysitters. They made it sound almost derogatory. Although after reading Nannyd's replies about her being a babysitter and clearly not a teacher, she feels entirely comfortable with that name. I'm kinda jealous in a way because I have felt a stigma being called a babysitter. I'm clearly not educated to be a teacher.
Yes, they're always learning and growing in my environment but it feels like a different kind of learning.
So I'm curious as to how others feel about the title of their profession? Is babysitting a profession? I do not want to start a debate, I'm sincerely seeking opinions.
MissAnn 04:21 AM 12-20-2013
I am a teacher. I teach preschool in my home. Anyone who calls me a babysitter will only call me that once.
MrsSteinel'sHouse 04:25 AM 12-20-2013
I am a child care provider. I am not insulted by the term babysitter. I am not a teacher, that is not my training.
MotherNature 04:47 AM 12-20-2013
in-home daycare owner/ child care provider
nannyde 04:47 AM 12-20-2013
When I first started doing child care "babysitter" was not a term that offended child care providers. I think the term "teacher" came along because centers could call their minimum wage employee staff assistants "teachers" and their services "school" at the same time the push for preschool below the age of four became something parents wanted.

When Child Care Resource and Referrals became primary trainers of child care providers they started using the phrase concomitantly with their training that put the kids preschool education onto us.