Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Understaffed and Overwhelmed
Unregistered 08:12 PM 01-24-2013
Hi all! I work at a daycare, and I love it. However, there are days where I am way under ratio with only two preschoolers, and there are days where I am way over ratio with as many as 18 to 20! By myself! I live in a state that only allows 10 preschoolers to one staff! When I tell the director or another manager I'm over ratio, they simply tell me to deal with it and don't provide me any extra help! This, unfortunately, is an often occurrence - probably two to three times a week. The infants and toddlers in the facility are usually held at ratio thankfully, but when it comes to my preschool, I am left out to dry! I don't know what to do. I'm also fairly new to this daycare, though, so I don't have as open communication with them as the other staff members do, even though I try. Should I report them (and to whom in Pennsylvania would I file a report if so) since I have tried so hard to let them know when I'm over the legal ratio with kids?
melilley 07:07 AM 01-25-2013
It is not ok for them to leave you over ratio at any time! If they don't do anything after you talk to them, you should call licensing. You don't have to give your name if you don't want to, that way they wouldn't know for sure if it was an employee or parent. Also depending on what kind of daycare you work at, often times there is someone above your director that you could talk to or at the center I used to work at there was a hotline you could call and anonymously report anything. Just remember, unfortunately if you don't do anything and something happens because you are over ratio, you could be blamed for it and possibly terminated. Good luck, I know it's never easy to report someone especially if you are new.
kitykids3 07:30 AM 01-25-2013