Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Napping
Jenniferdawn 03:51 PM 07-26-2012
Do you have specific ages that you switch your dck from two naps to one or do you let them evolve their nap schedule on their own? I'm asking because I have a 12 month old dcg (who I've always let her own body tell me when to switch the naps) and will soon be starting a 14 month old dcb. I want to get them on the same schedule and think I will need to force the issue at some point since they are two different kids. If you do switch your dck at a certain age, what age?
Truly Scrumptious 03:59 PM 07-26-2012
When my dckids turn a year old...I start transitioning to just one nap a day.
Nickel 05:51 PM 07-26-2012
Same here. This is my first time doing hdc, but when I worked at the cdc we transitioned them at one. They might still take a short nap in the morning until they adjusted, but we didn't dim the lights and we were pretty loud. And it was only if they really really needed one. It took about a month for some, less for others, but it made it so much easier to get everyone on the same schedule!

I plan on doing the same with my hdc. And I did the same with my own daughter too
DCBlessings27 06:18 PM 07-26-2012
My dd was transitioned to 1 nap by 12months or a little after. But, I let it depend on the kid. My 19month dcb started out with 2 naps at 13months and then went to 1 nap for awhile. Now, he's 19months and has gone back to 2 naps. If he doesn't get the morning nap, he starts hitting and pulling hair really bad. He's going through a hitting and pulling phase, but it's way worse when he's tired. Of course, my dcb gets up at 6 and plays hard every day with his older brother before coming to daycare, so it might just be him.

I would suggest trying to get your daycare kids on the same schedule but being flexible if one or both isn't adjusting to your schedule.
Meyou 03:03 AM 07-27-2012