Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Parent's Won't Pay??
Unregistered 06:25 AM 02-08-2008
I just need to throw this out there and see what you guys think...in the past 6 months I have had 2 families where the parent got layed off their jobs and just called and said their child would not be coming to daycare anymore. No notice or anything. I require a 2 week notice. And they will not pay their balances. One parent is really mad about my rule on if your child misses daycare on their scheduled day I still charge 50%, so she refuses to pay her last 2 week bill, although she signed a contract where the rule was stated. The other parent just isn't paying for whatever reason. Both balances are under $100, so I'm not sure it's worth taking them to court. It's just very annoying. How do you guys handle non paying parents? I have been doing daycare for 19 years and have only had to take 1 parent to court. Thanks.
Tammy Buttensworth 09:46 AM 02-08-2008
You should think about a getting a deposit. Secondly, if someone signs a contract then they need to be responsible and abide by it. Put some teeth into it and take them to small claims court. It is worth it. This is a business and you are offering a much needed service. You need to take your emotions out of these and run your business as a business. If someone has a hardship then write it off as a loss or charity but YOU be in control of who deserves it.
Unregistered 10:25 AM 02-08-2008