Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>When Did YOU Know You Could Do This Job?
preschoolteacher 12:41 PM 12-17-2013
My daycare has been open for 2 months now, and I provided unlicensed care before that... so I've been doing daycare for 4 months in total. Recently I have felt like I can really handle it... I remember when I first opened, I was worried about taking care of one other toddler in addition to my son. Could I possibly do it??! Now, I only have three kids (all under 2) some days. Recently, I told a parent that those days were my "quiet days", and they looked at me like I was crazy. Honestly, I have been getting a little bored with just 3 kids here. Other days, I have 5, and that is also totally do-able... although with more challenges, of course.

When did YOU know that you could really do this--take care of multiple little kids at once by yourself? Was there an ah-ha moment?

I recently advertised for kids 2+ and am adding one or two more kids to the group... so I'll have 4-5 kids each day.
sharlan 12:54 PM 12-17-2013
I started "babysitting" when I was 12/13. I haven't stopped. I always say that I've had a baby on my hip for 57 years now.
littlemissmuffet 01:01 PM 12-17-2013
I'm very organized, can multitask easily and I manage time, stress and finances quite well... I've known all along I could balance the actual work part of this job (dealing with multiple kids) and the actual ownership side of the job (running a business, paperwork, budgeting, etc).
Blackcat31 01:36 PM 12-17-2013
Originally Posted by littlemissmuffet:
I'm very organized, can multitask easily and I manage time, stress and finances quite well... I've known all along I could balance the actual work part of this job (dealing with multiple kids) and the actual ownership side of the job (running a business, paperwork, budgeting, etc).
This is me too.