Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>First Winter with Daycare
jenboo 08:56 AM 11-03-2016
I'm still very new to winter and this is my first winter with the daycare.
I'm getting ready to send out a winter newsletter and need help.
When do you stay inside?
What clothing and shoes do you require?
Do they bring everything daily or do you require them to leave everthing?
I need all our tips!!

It gets cold here (low teens) but we dont get tons of snow.

Also, I will have 10 kids under 2 . What do you do with the infants and non walkers when there is snow or the ground is wet??
Thanks!!
nothingwithoutjoy 09:33 AM 11-03-2016
Originally Posted by jenboo:
When do you stay inside?
Only if the weather report says it's dangerous to be outside. We go out in almost everything; just vary how long we stay out.
Originally Posted by :
Snowpants and coat, or snowsuit (preferred). Hat, good waterproof mittens, boots. I like kids to wear wool longjohns, wool socks, and neckwarmers, too, but those are suggestions, not requirements.
Originally Posted by :
I prefer for them to leave stuff if they can, because it means far less forgotten items.
Originally Posted by :
I need all our tips!!
Spend a lot of time up front teaching kids to get on as much as they can by themselves, so over time, you're just finishing up, not dressing everyone. Teach the order of how things go on most efficiently. Have big kids help littler kids.
Originally Posted by :

Also, I will have 10 kids under 2 . What do you do with the infants and non walkers when there is snow or the ground is wet??
Thanks!!