Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Charging Tuition Year Round
Unregistered 05:04 PM 03-14-2016
Hello All-
I am in my first year of running a small family sized daycare and was curious to get some feedback on the following (this was recently brought up by a parent):

1. Is it normal for day cares to charge tuition even when there is no school (i.e. holidays, winter break, spring break, summer break etc.)? From what I have gathered, it is pretty standard and it makes sense because we still have rent/utilities/insurance/payroll etc. to pay. Based on this, the monthly tuition is based on an annual amount as opposed to the days children are present. I am off on this?

2. Based on the above, what is the standard of charging graduating families? In our case, graduation/last day of school is before summer break, which is 3 weeks - then we offer a summer session before the first actual day of the new school year (basically a month after the last day of the school year). Do we not charge the graduating families for the last month, since basically their kids are done? Not sure if I made any sense.

Thanks in advance for all your help!
Michael 08:08 PM 03-14-2016
There are some TAGS I included below left that may help.
Leigh 06:24 AM 03-15-2016
Originally Posted by Unregistered:
Hello All-
I am in my first year of running a small family sized daycare and was curious to get some feedback on the following (this was recently brought up by a parent):

1. Is it normal for day cares to charge tuition even when there is no school (i.e. holidays, winter break, spring break, summer break etc.)? From what I have gathered, it is pretty standard and it makes sense because we still have rent/utilities/insurance/payroll etc. to pay. Based on this, the monthly tuition is based on an annual amount as opposed to the days children are present. I am off on this?