Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Taking Off For Your Kids School Functions
WImom 10:45 AM 10-28-2010
What do you do? This is my first year where my kids are in school. I know we have a christmas concert during the day in december and a kindergarten parent day (Parents come in and make christmas items with their kids, etc).

I'd like to do these, do I just close early, use a vacation day? I would give plently of notice.

What do you usually do?
DCMomOf3 10:50 AM 10-28-2010
I try to make my husband go and I miss the festivities. Once in a blue moon I'll close for a half-day and only charge part-time for that day.

This is one part of being a DCP that stinks, we miss out on things like this unless you have back-up (which I don't) or can close.
legomom922 10:57 AM 10-28-2010
I would close or tell them you have a appt. In my handbook, I have a policy where if I need to take a day off, I dont get paid, but if I have a appt, they have the option of coming early, picking up early or having someone else pick up, and they still pay. No credit is given for early dismissals. So far, I have never had a problem doing it this way. I would NEVER miss out on one of my own childrens events. You could not pay me enough to miss it, so thats why I do not charge if I take the day off for that. I have never missed one of my sons field trips!
Live and Learn 10:58 AM 10-28-2010
WI MOM-
I forget...how many kids do you have in daycare? I have gone to concerts with a daycare kid or two. The dcks loved it and I got to watch my own lil stinkers sing their hearts out.
Both of the functions that you mentioned shouldn't last more than a couple of hours tops...?can you find a sub for daycare just for a couple of hours? Those kindergarten days go by so fast...my advice is to do what it takes to be there.