Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Daycare/Preschool
Iantha 02:06 PM 04-09-2014
I have been running a licensed home daycare for 23 years and was thinking about switching to a licensed home Preschool where i do 2 half day programs a day for 4 days ... My state lady brought it up that you work less hours make more money and i was wondering if anyone has a home preschool based out of there home. I do not know what i want to do and would like any advice you guys have Pros and cons so far the pro is i will make a lot more, work 6-7 hours instead of 12 and off on Fridays but the con is i will not have my babies anymore and i have to say goodbye to 4 kids which i think is the hardest thing to do ;0( TIA
Evansmom 02:16 PM 04-09-2014
Hi there!
I ran a preschool out of my home for 5 years, though I worked full time hours. I worked in daycare centers and as a nanny for 15 years before that.

My advice would be to offer a niche preschool. Think of your strengths and what sets you apart as a provider and as a teacher and then build the preschool around that. For instance my preschool was nature/Science/Art specific so I drew a lot on Waldorf and Reggio philosophies. I offered things that other preschools did not like a huge back yard where we spent a lot of time playing and regular field trips to explore the creek we lived by.

As long as you can find a niche and market yourself in a way that sets you apart from daycares and preschools in your area then I think it will be easier to fill spots.

Good luck in your new endeavor!
Starburst 02:46 PM 04-09-2014
This lady started out just doing 1/2 day preschool (4 classes 2 T/Th and 2 M/W/F with morning and afternoon classes each day) in her home and eventually opened a preschool center with a private kindergarten program.

I don't buy any of her products but I do enjoy the videos.