Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Dcg has "mosquito bites"
CraftyMom 11:14 AM 05-29-2014
Dcg is just about 2. Every so often she gets these red itchy blotches. I am not a doctor, but my Dr Mom diagnosis is eczema. 2 of my kids have it and I've had several dck's with it. Of course I could be wrong, in which case it still needs to be checked out so I know what it is.

Mom insists it's mosquito bites. Has she never seen a mosquito bite?

These spots go away and come back and are not bumps but blotches, some are large. Super itchy, poor dcg keeps saying she has boo-boos.

I texted mom and said I think it is eczema, which I've mentioned before, but I think she should see the doctor to verify. So she is going at 2:45 today. Wouldn't you know the red patches have almost faded now. I took pics earlier and texted them to mom so at least she can show the doctor those.

I have a feeling its food related. Also the pollen count has been high around here which could be a trigger.

Just wanted to vent. Mom is so insistent on mosquito bites, ugh
SignMeUp 11:43 AM 05-29-2014
Do you have an exclusion policy for undiagnosed rash? If so, maybe you can use that so that she will take the child to the doctor. I have to say though, a lot of pediatricians aren't rash experts, and to get a real diagnosis for something that recurs, some times a dermatologist is needed. In my experience, the dermatologists nail the rash on the first try.
Unregistered 11:48 AM 05-29-2014
Bed bug bites?
Second Home 11:54 AM 05-29-2014
Could it be an allergic reaction or hives . My dd had a reaction to medication and it started out like red blotches , not raised or like a bug bite.
Kelly 01:57 PM 05-29-2014
my son used to get big red blotches when he got mosquito bites. Dr. said it was an allergic reaction to the mosquito bites.
BumbleBee 01:59 PM 05-29-2014
Originally Posted by Kelly: